HDR’s Katie Dillon Honored with Kenneth J. Miller Founders’ Award

Katie Dillon | HDR’s Katie Dillon Honored with Kenneth J. Miller Founders’ Award
Katie Dillon

Katie Dillon, assistant client development leader based in HDR’s Bellevue, Washington, office, has been awarded the Pacific Northwest Section Kenneth J. Miller Founders’ Award.

The Miller Award was established in 2001 by the Board of Directors of Water For People to honor outstanding volunteer service to the cause of safe water and sanitation around the world. Today, the award is presented annually to exceptional volunteers selected by WFP Committees and Workplace Giving partners. 

Dillon has been a committee member of WFP since 2015, and has run or helped plan numerous successful fundraising efforts for the Pacific Northwest Section of the American Water Works Association, including chairing the WFP Silent Auction at the last five regional conferences. Recently, Dillon pioneered taking the Silent Auction from a traditional paper-based format to an online, app-based format. This new format is environmentally friendly and allows the auction to reach a broader base of support.

Dillon is active in the PNWS-AWWA and is currently serving as the WFP Committee Chair, the Conference Auction Chair and the Philanthropic Advisory Council Vice-Chair. In addition to her fundraising efforts, she has been a member of the annual conference planning committee since 2014. She also presented at the section’s first annual Leadership Symposium in 2019. Katie is currently running for the Trustee-At-Large position on the PNWS-AWWA Board. 

“This is well-deserved recognition for Katie’s volunteer work and her commitment to Water for People over the past several years,” said Chance Lauderdale, HDR’s drinking water director. “Her dedication to fundraise and spread awareness locally makes an impact to communities around the world.”

The culmination of district and section wide WFP efforts helped 3.6 million people gain access to water and sanitation in 2019. Awardees for this year’s 2019-2020 cycle represent outstanding champions who dedicate their time to end the global water crisis.