St. Croix Crossing

St. Croix Crossing

St. Croix Crossing

Nur wenige Brücken passen sich in Schönheit und Einzigartigkeit dem St. Croix Crossing an. Beide Attribute resultierten aus kundenspezifischen Innovationen, die durch die Bedürfnisse des Minnesota Department of Transportation und des Wisconsin Department of Transportation angetrieben wurden.

In erster Linie benötigten die Agenturen eine Brücke, die den Durchsatz entlang des Minnesota Trunk Highway 36 und des Wisconsin Highway 64 erhöhen konnte, die das Gebiet der Twin Cities und Wisconsin über den malerischen St. Croix River verbinden. Vorgänger der Brücke war die 80 Jahre alte Stillwater Lift Bridge, die sowohl betriebliche als auch bauliche Mängel aufwies.

Als nächstes brauchten MnDOT und WisDOT eine konstruktive und ästhetisch ansprechende Struktur, die zu einem Wild and Scenic Riverway passt - und das alles in einem beschleunigten Zeitplan. Diese Faktoren führten schließlich zu unserem Extradosed-Enddesign, das wir in ca. 12 Monaten gemeinsam mit MnDOT-Mitarbeitern geliefert haben. Als die Brücke im August 2017 eröffnet wurde, war sie erst die zweite ihrer Art in den USA und die vierte ihrer Art in Nordamerika.

Die rund 330 Millionen Euro teure Brücke erstreckt sich 1025 Meter über den St. Croix River mit ca. 670 Metern Anlaufstrukturen. Ihre hybride Bauweise - teils Schrägseil, teils Hohlkastenträger - bietet mehrere Vorteile. Darunter die gesenkte Wartung von nur zwei Dehnungsfugen für den Hauptflussübergang: eine am Wisconsin Abutment und eine am Minnesota Transition Pier.

Ein weiterer Vorteil ist die geringe bauliche Belastung der ökologisch sensiblen Uferbereiche in beiden Bundesstaaten. Das Extradosed-Design schränkte auch das sichtbare Profil der künstlichen Konstruktion gegenüber einer herkömmlichen Schrägseilbrücke ein und reduzierte die Anzahl der Pfeiler im Fluss im Vergleich zu einer reinen Segmentbeton-Kastenträgerbrücke. Dadurch wird das Sichtfeld minimal behindert.

Zwei der charakteristischen Merkmale der Brücke sind ihre schrägen und geschwungenen Oberflächen und die schlanken, zweiflügeligen Pfeiler, die eine visuelle Qualität vermitteln, die die Brücke mit ihrer natürlichen Umgebung verbindet.

Um den Bau zu beschleunigen, hat unser Team fortgeschrittene Pläne für die im Jahr 2013 errichteten Flussfundamente erstellt. Wir unterstützten die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit von MnDOT, leisteten visuelle Unterstützung und entwickelten spezielle Rückstellungen und Kostenvoranschläge.

Die Herausforderungen von St. Croix Crossing, wie z.B. die durchgehenden Längen und ästhetischen Anforderungen, wurden durch sorgfältige Abwägung der Details und effektiver Teamarbeit zwischen HDR, unseren Beratungspartnern und unseren Kunden erfolgreich gemeistert.

St. Croix Crossing
Auftraggeber
Minnesota Department of Transportation and Wisconsin Department of Transportation
Ort

Oak Park Heights, Minnesota and St. Joseph, WI
Vereinigte Staaten

St. Croix Crossing

St. Croix Crossing

St. Croix Crossing

Few bridges match St. Croix Crossing for beauty and uniqueness. Both attributes resulted from custom innovations driven by the needs of the Minnesota Department of Transportation and the Wisconsin Department of Transportation.

First and foremost, the agencies needed a bridge that could increase throughput along Minnesota Trunk Highway 36 and Wisconsin Highway 64, which link the Twin Cities area and Wisconsin across the picturesque St. Croix River. The bridge’s predecessor was the 80-year-old Stillwater Lift Bridge, which showed both operational and structural deficiencies. 

Next, MnDOT and WisDOT needed a constructible and aesthetically pleasing structure befitting a Wild and Scenic Riverway — and they needed all of this delivered on an accelerated schedule. These factors ultimately led to our extradosed final design, which we delivered in about 12 months by co-locating with MnDOT staff. When the bridge opened in August 2017, it was only the second of its kind in the U.S. and the fourth of its kind in North America.

The $377 million bridge extends 3,365 feet across the St. Croix River with 2,214 feet of approach structures. Its hybrid design — part-cable-stay, part-box-girder — allows for several advantages. Among them, the lowered maintenance of only two expansion joints for the main river crossing: one at the Wisconsin abutment and one at the Minnesota transition pier.

Another advantage is the minimal construction impact on environmentally sensitive areas on the river banks in both states. The extradosed design also curtailed the manmade structure’s visible profile versus a traditional cable-stay bridge, and reduced the number of piers in the river compared to a pure segmental concrete box-girder bridge. Thus, the viewshed is minimally obstructed.

Two of the bridge’s signature features are its sloped and curved surfaces and slender, twin-blade piers, which convey a visual quality that blends the bridge with its natural surroundings.

To accelerate construction, our team prepared advanced plans for the river foundations that were built in 2013. We supported MnDOT’s public outreach, provided visual-quality assistance and developed special provisions and cost estimates.

Challenges of St. Croix Crossing, such as its long, continuous length and aesthetic requirements, have been successfully met by careful consideration of the details and effective teamwork between HDR, our consultant partners and our clients. 

St. Croix Crossing
Client
Minnesota Department of Transportation and Wisconsin Department of Transportation
Location

Oak Park Heights, MN and St. Joseph, WI
United States

Awards

Public Works Project of the Year (2018)
Transportation Category, More than $75 Million Division
American Public Works Association
Honor Award (2018)
Engineering Excellence Awards
American Council of Engineering Companies
Grand Conceptor Award (2018)
Engineering Excellence Awards
American Council of Engineering Companies of Minnesota
Grand Award (2018)
Engineering Excellence Awards
American Council of Engineering Companies of Minnesota
People’s Choice Award (2018)
Engineering Excellence Awards
American Council of Engineering Companies of Minnesota